Exactly one month ago today, I made some sizable strength goals (click here for the original post) that I wanted to achieve by the end of this fall semester (mid December). I knew it wouldn’t be easy, but now, more than ever, am I willing to keep going. So far, the progress has been amazing and I have really been dedicated in my effort to get stronger while maintaining musculoskeletal integrity.

Below is where I stood one month ago (9/25/13) at 181lbs:

  • PowerClean: 225lbs
  • Hang Clean: 205lbs
  • Clean & Jerk: 205lbs
  • Bench Press: 265lbs
  • Deadlift: 365lbs

Here is where I stand today (10/25/13) at 189lbs:

  • Power Clean: 245lbs (About a 9% increase)
  • Hang Clean: 225lbs (About a 10% increase and Goal Accomplished! Now I need a new one! Let’s say 245lbs!)
  • Hang/Power Clean & Push Jerk: 225lbs (new variation I added)
  • Bench Press: 275lbs (note: I can do 3-4 reps for multiple sets  so my 1 rep max, according to the 1 rep calculator, is about 310lbs)
  • Deadlift: 425lbs (16% increase and a new PR for me. I deadlift with no straps and instead use a hook grip rather than a mixed grip)
  • Snatch: 135lbs (A new lift that I just started to do, so it will be a while until I get some serious weight!)

Here are my strength goals by semester’s end:

  • Power Clean: 275lbs
  • Hang Clean: 245lbs (originally 225lbs)
  • Clean & Jerk: 245lbs
  • Bench Press: 315lbs
  • Deadlift: 465lbs
  • Snatch: 185lbs (New Goal!)

As you can see, I’m making great progress and it feels awesome. I do not think I’ve ever been more excited to train in my life than right now. Training, if not already, has officially become a huge part of my life that I do not plan on seeing going away anytime soon as long as I’m able to. These goals do not only serve as a testimony of my work, but a model of what I, and you, can do in all things if we just put our minds to it. My journey is not over with, but whether I reach my goals or not is besides the point. It’s the journey there that matters and that is what allows us to improve, grow and evolve as an individual. I encourage you to make goals in your life for something that most matters to you that will allow for the same growth and maturity to happen. It could be anything thing you like, but just go for it all and hold nothing back. You won’t be disappointed.

Thanks for reading, please comment, and I will see you next time!

(Photo Credit)

Leave a comment